Weekend: 5-6 March 2016

  • Coming home from a busy week of work. I was absolutely exhausted on Friday. I was up since 6am and was going, going, going all day.
  • Making one of my mum’s signature dishes of mince, carrots, tomato sauce and rice for dinner, which Cejay specifically requested.
  • Cooking a very nice dinner, but it’s never the same as Mum’s.
  • Sending Cejay out for some red wine while the food was cooking.
  • Having a glass of wine and relaxing with dinner.
  • Knowing that friends would be coming over at some point.
  • Remembering that I had agreed to cut my brothers’ hair at 10pm on Friday night as that was the only time that fit all three of our schedules (Yes, I cut their hair. No, I am not a qualified hairdresser. No, I do not force them. Yes, they actually ask me to do it. Yes, they somehow prefer my haircuts to ones that actual hairdressers give them. And yes, I think I do a pretty damn good job!)
  • Hanging out with friends.
  • Setting up the hairdressing area.
  • Complaining about my current clippers and suggesting they buy me a really good set as payment.
  • Laughing at how picky my brothers can get in regard to their haircuts. They could never be this picky with actual hairdressers. Maybe that’s why they get me to cut their hair.
  • Watching funny youtube videos in the middle of cutting hair.
  • Feeling tired and happy when they both finally declared their haircuts perfect (dude, they’re both really picky – they’re lucky I even do this for them).
  • Smiling as they cleaned up for me.
  • Saying goodbye to our friends.
  • Having a good old chat with my brothers and Cejay which somehow took us to 2am.
  • Saying goodbye to my brothers and retreating to bed.
  • Sleeping in on Saturday morning, only to hurriedly get dressed in order to make a morning meeting.
  • Putting on a dress and doing make up in record time.
  • Relishing the warm Summer weather and spending time with my mother in law after the meeting for a few hours.
  • Coming home and having a nap for at least an hour – we lost track of time.
  • Waking up to a message from someone on Gumtree – we have been looking for gym equipment for a few days, and hit the jackpot with someone selling a treadmill, squat rack, full weights, bars, lat pull machine, dip machine and exercise bike for an insane price. We were delighted when we found out the equipment was still up for sale.
  • Agreeing to a price and being super excited about having a home gym finally!
  • Deciding to be spontaneous and pick up the gym equipment that very evening.
  • Asking my mother-in-law if we could borrow the van.
  • Picking up the van and driving an hour away to pick up the equipment.
  • Playing tetris as we loaded the gym equipment into the van.
  • Finally coming home after a long escapade of picking up an entire gym.
  • Having a sneaky KFC dinner as celebration – we will work off the calories in our home gym haha!
  • Heading over to friend’s house and watching the EPL game. Arsenal and Tottenham tied (we’re Arsenal fans).
  • Coming home at 2am, exhausted.
  • Collapsing into bed.
  • Enjoying a sleep in.
  • Deciding against our original plans to go to the beach to set up the new gym. We would need to return the van for Monday.
  • Deciding to swap out the current guest room for the home gym, and make the 4th bedroom the guest bedroom.
  • Taking apart the bed and cleaning up the room.
  • Loading the room with the gym equipment.
  • Enlisting my brother and his friend to assist in taking out the heavy treadmill and awkward shaped lat pull machine.
  • Feeling totally proud of ourselves when everything fit in the room perfectly. PHEW!
  • Heading out to buy mats for the gym, groceries and a roast chicken for dinner.
  • Coming home to slightly messy house – the mattress for the guest bed was in the hallway from the move.
  • Having a nice roast dinner, doing some laundry, and then deciding to tackle the bedroom because we knew that if we left it, the house would stay messy till the next weekend.
  • Going through the 4th bedroom which has become our ‘store room’ and finally chucking out a whole bunch of stuff.
  • Moving the bed back in and feeling the satisfaction of seeing two totally clean and organised rooms (the study is next – the floor is currently hidden by piles and piles of books. We have ordered a bookcase which should be available any day now).
  • Going to bed way too late for a Sunday, but feeling happy.

Leave a comment