Monday, Bloody Monday

Today it is Friday! As we all know, everyone loves Friday because the entire weekend is ahead of you. You’ve just gotten through another week and you’re probably feeling proud and accomplished of the work that was achieved over the last 5 days, and now it’s time for a well deserved rest.

But everyone hates Monday because it is the start of another working week. Time to do it all again. However, what I’m trying to do is change my perspective of Monday. It is a new opportunity. It is a new chance. It means new beginnings. We all love new year don’t we? Despite the fact that we have to “do it all again?” Isn’t that essentially what Mondays are? Instead of it being a new year though, it is a new week. Why should that affect the way we treat Mondays? Sure it means you can’t sleep in until lunchtime, sure it means you actually have to get dressed for work and go into horrid peak hour traffic, but it still means a new beginning.

I want life to be lived. I don’t want to wake up after 20, 30, 40, 50 years and look back at how much I hated Mondays. In fact, back in my old job I only really started getting excited on Wednesday nights because it meant hump day was over. It meant there was only 2 days left being the lower end of the 5 day scale. In Sydney we have late night shopping on Thursday nights, so that meant I had something to look forward to on Thursdays, and Fridays were always good.

And to be honest, to get to that line of thinking where I actually felt happy on Wednesday nights took me some time. Before that I worked to feeling happy on Thursday nights because there was only one day of work left. Before that, I was only ever happy after lunch on Fridays because it was the last leg of the race. Only a few more hours till home time.

It’s all about perspective. And now, I don’t want to hate my Mondays. My Mondays are MINE. They are my opportunity in life. Tuesdays are always a bit better because, well, it was never a Monday. Wednesdays were sometimes hard because you were still dealing with most of the week left. But I am going to work as hard as possible to at least appreciate my Mondays. I’m going to try to appreciate every Monday I have. Because who knows, it could be the start to an AMAZING week.

Jess

Leave a Reply

